Blue70 Racing

Upcoming Races

10/22/2022 Great Floridian Tri - Long Course

Past Races

09/25/2022 Augusta 70.3
04/03/2022 Ocean Drive Triathlon
03/06/2022 A1A Triathlon/Duathlon
12/12/2021 Ironman 70.3 Florida

Mac Serda

Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Primary Discipline(s) Triathlon, Road Cycling / Criterium, Road Running
Bucket List RaceIronman 140 Mont Tremblant
Post-Race DrinkAny brew from my family's Brewery (Serda Brew)
Off-Day ActivityOff-day, what's that? If an off-day occurs....family time, and tinkering with my tri equipment/supplies!

I started cycling about 5 years ago when my back caused too much pain when I tried to run. About 2 years ago, after losing weight and gaining some core strength, I began to run again without pain. In 2021 I made a goal to participate in a sprint duo to see if I could finish, and enjoyed the challenge so much I decided to race in a triathlon each month over the summer (2021), and have loved it.

Now I am training for my first 70.3 in Florida (12/12/21) and love the challenge of following a training program, and balancing my work, life and family needs. I don't set any speed records, and my body aches and struggles with the physical demands, but I enjoy every stride, stroke and cadence.

The social component is my biggest driver. If you are a triathlete, or even have a hobby of any of the 3 disciplines, you're my best friend, and I hope we can get coffee or a drink to discuss the small details of training, nutrition, workout tracking, equipment and race preparation. I love sharing my experiences with new athletes, and hearing of the nuances of the tri-life from more experienced athletes.

I am 55 and had never tried coffee until I began participating in this way of life. Now, I still take my coffee a little sweeter than many, but sharing a coffee after a workout with someone training with me can be the highlight of my training. I am motivated socially, that is, I love to train with someone else, but am disciplined and focused enough to be able train solo when needed.

I have three girls (24, 21, 17) and a wonderful wife, and I am happy to share experiences of balancing training, family and work with anyone at any time.